photo: sanderlings foraging

John Hartog - Natural Soundscape Recording

Links

On this list are just a few of the nature recordists I know - some of the ones with active websites. If you have a nature recording related website to recommend, please visit our contact page and email your suggestions.



Marc Anderson,   Professional field recordist & photographer   wildambience.com

With his online Nature Soundmap Marc has brilliantly brought together sound recordists from around the globe.



Dan Dugan   dandugan.com

Dan is a professional audio engineer and field recordist. He leads a variety of lessons at Nature Sounds Society workshops. Have a field recording tech question? Dan probably has the right answer.



Bernie Krause,   Wild Sanctuary, Inc.   www.wildsanctuary.com

Bernie Krause is unquestionably the foremost authority on natural soundscape recording. He is author of the essential nature recording primers, Into a Wild Sanctuary and Wild Soundscapes. His scientific work in bioacoustics has pioneered the important concept of biophony, an essential component of ecosystem ecology.



David Kuhn,   Sounds Hawaiian   www.soundshawaiian.com

David is a professional field recordist and wildlife guide, based in Kauai.



John Neville,   Neville Recording   www.nevillerecording.com

John Neville is a professional species recordist based in British Columbia. He specializes in bird song guides for northern species found across Canada.



Curt Olsen,   Minnesota Soundscapes   minnesotasoundscapes.com

Curt captures phenomenally vivid natural soundscapes with his innovative DIY stereo microphone techniques.



Martyn Stewart,   Digital Sounds of Nature   www.naturesound.org

Visit Martyn's fabulous website encapsulating 35 years of work in species documentation through natural soundscape recordings. Martyn is very passionate about preserving the pristine ecosystems of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, and his related CD is coupled with the award winning book Arctic Wings.



Nature Sounds Society,   www.naturesounds.org

While looking for others sharing my nature recording interests, I discovered the Nature Sounds Society and then signed up for their annual recording workshop. The event was key for introducing me to the nature recording community.



Naturerecordists Yahoo Group   https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/naturerecordists/info

This is the place to connect with the nature recordist community. The many active participants here encompass a broad array of professional backgrounds and levels of experience.



Dwight Porter,   Varied Hush Records   www.variedhush.com

Dwight Porter is a professional nature recordist with an interest in soundscapes from quiet place.



Doug Von Gausig,   Nature Recordings and Photography   www.naturesongs.com

Doug is the owner of the naturerecordists Yahoo group.



Greg Weddig,   Baltimore Maryland   http://gregweddig.net/

Greg designs elegant arrays using highest quality components to get fine quality nature recordings. He is also a very active supporter of the Nature Sounds Society.





If you have any questions or comments, please visit our contact page and send us an email.